Blood Magic by Tessa Gratton

10:00 AM

Title: Blood Magic (The Blood Journals #1)
Author: Tessa Gratton
Release Date: May 24, 2011 (hardcover)
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
Pages: 416
Source: ARC provided by publisher through Bookurious

Overall: 4 Stars

Summary: 
This page-turning debut novel will entice fans who like their paranormal romances dark and disturbing. It's a natural next-read for fans of Stephenie Meyer, Carrie Jones, and Becca Fitzpatrick. But instead of mythical creatures, blood magic has everything to do with primal human desires like power, wealth, and immortality. Everywhere Silla Kennicott turns she sees blood. She can't stop thinking about her parents alleged murder-suicide. She is consumed by a book filled with spells that arrives mysteriously in the mail. The spells share one common ingredient: blood, and Silla is more than willing to cast a few. What's a little spilled blood if she can uncover the truth? And then there's Nick—the new guy at school who makes her pulse race. He has a few secrets of his own and is all too familiar with the lure of blood magic. Drawn together by a combination of fate and chemistry, Silla and Nick must find out who else in their small Missouri town knows their secret and will do anything to take the book and magic from Silla.  

My Thoughts:
Blood Magic has cast its very own spell on me! Following Silla and Nick's foray into the dangerous world of blood magic, Tessa Gratton has weaved a dark and alluring tale that will be sure to enthrall you from start to finish!

I really did love Tessa Gratton's writing style... and the dual perspectives between Nick and Silla along with old journal entries were just an added bonus that were brought to the table. Tessa Gratton's prose is almost poetic and lyrical at times with the way she integrates allusions into the story, and at others, she's very straight-forward and direct to the point she's making.

The relationship between Nick and Silla seemed to evolve rather quickly, with their feelings for each other strengthening quite soon, but I was able to overcome this fact for the most part. Because we get inside the minds of both characters, it's easy to see how these two teens can feel a close connection right away with their complicated pasts and their shared interest in learning more about blood magic. My heart ached for the misfortune that had befallen on Silla... and Nick's past, while a little better, wasn't exactly sunshine and rainbows either. They were both in need of help and through supporting each other, they could heal some of the pain to become stronger individuals. 

As I was reading, there were times when I was staring so hard at the words before me that I thought I'd burn a hole right through the pages! Sure, I thought the pacing was rather slow sometimes, but there were also moments where I was completely gripped by the intensity of the events. This is a novel not for the faint of heart. Blood is spilled many times (from as simple as a drop!) due to the nature of this form of magic and with Tessa Gratton's descriptions, you'll easily be able to conjure images of the events to mind. Sometimes, it felt like I should be even shuddering but instead, I was left with this odd, deep fascination for the thrill and power of blood magic, and the sacrifices it entailed.

And the lead up to the ending? It was heart-pounding and thrilling in a way that kept me constantly on my toes trying to guess the outcome! There were quite a few twists and turns that left me surprised and wide-eyed, that's for sure!

Tessa Gratton's debut novel is suspenseful and addictive in so many ways! Without a doubt, I shall be eagerly looking forward to The Blood Keeper, a companion novel to Blood Magic, which will be released next year! With a very original storyline, Blood Magic will easily stand out amongst novels in the paranormal genre!

You Might Also Like

8 comments

  1. I think this is the first review of this book that I read, and I love that you covered all the bases -the good and the not so good - and it does sound like a nice book, though I'm not a big fan of paranormal romance... or blood. LOL.

    :D

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm in a contemp phase right now but I will definitely add this one to my TBR list! I've vaguely heard of it before but I'm much more interested after your review. Plus, I don't wanna miss that heart pounding ending!

    ReplyDelete
  3. The name and cover are enough to make me want to read this book. ;) Blood Magic sounds like exactly the kind of book I'd enjoy! Thanks for the review!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Great review! I've only read... two? other 3-star reviews of this one, so I'm glad you like it; it's nice to hear another perspective. I love dual perspectives and fluid writing, so it sounds like I'll definitely have to check Nick and Silla out sometime! And LOVE fast-paced endings. :D

    ReplyDelete
  5. Great review! I'll have to check this out sometime. :)

    ReplyDelete
  6. I hated this book! Don't understand how you can have liked it! I made a youtube review to explain my thoughts on it. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gHxeYrVtxpI

    ReplyDelete
  7. Great review hoN! I really want to read this ASAP! but I bought too many books LOL! Thanks for sharing :) btw don't forget to enter my huge 500+ followers and 6 month blogoversary giveaway ;)

    ReplyDelete
  8. I absolutely fell completely in love with this book. Yeah for some readers it's a bit bloody and maybe a little creepy, but I believe the story played out beautifully. And I loved the story line and the overall concept of the book is awesome.

    ReplyDelete