Waiting on Wednesday - These Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly

1:21 PM

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine spotlighting upcoming releases we're eagerly anticipating.

 Release Date: October 27, 2015
Publisher: Delacorte Press

Summary (from Penguin Random House Canada): 
From Jennifer Donnelly, the critically acclaimed New York Times bestselling author of A Northern Light and Revolution, comes a mystery about dark secrets, dirty truths, and the lengths to which people will go for love and revenge. For fans of Elizabeth George and Libba Bray, These Shallow Graves is the story of how much a young woman is willing to risk and lose in order to find the truth.
 
Jo Montfort is beautiful and rich, and soon—like all the girls in her class—she’ll graduate from finishing school and be married off to a wealthy bachelor. Which is the last thing she wants. Jo dreams of becoming a writer—a newspaper reporter like the trailblazing Nellie Bly.
 
Wild aspirations aside, Jo’s life seems perfect until tragedy strikes: her father is found dead. Charles Montfort shot himself while cleaning his pistol. One of New York City’s wealthiest men, he owned a newspaper and was a partner in a massive shipping firm, and Jo knows he was far too smart to clean a loaded gun.
 
The more Jo hears about her father’s death, the more something feels wrong. Suicide is the only logical explanation, and of course people have started talking, but Jo’s father would never have resorted to that. And then she meets Eddie—a young, smart, infuriatingly handsome reporter at her father’s newspaper—and it becomes all too clear how much she stands to lose if she keeps searching for the truth. But now it might be too late to stop.
 
The past never stays buried forever. Life is dirtier than Jo Montfort could ever have imagined, and this time the truth is the dirtiest part of all.

It's hard to believe, but it's been five years since I first read Jennifer Donnelly's stunning YA masterpiece Revolution. It was an unforgettable read, a blend of historical and contemporary fiction, and I've been patiently waiting for Jennifer Donnelly to return to her historical roots since then. I'm not really a fan of paranormal novels centered around mermaids, so her Waterfire Saga has never interested me, but when I stumbled upon These Shallow Graves, I instantly knew I needed to read this book. Set during the Gilded Age, this is a historical mystery thriller I hope you add to your TBR too! And isn't the cover absolutely gorgeous and haunting?

You Might Also Like

0 comments